Fabulous Fox Quilt Finished for Faith

Fabulous Fox Quilt

Finished at Last

It has been over a year since this was started.  It was a gift for Faith for her 7th birthday.  Now that she is eight I thought I should probably give it to her.  Last night she covered up with it and was so excited it was hers (and done).

Fabulous Fox Quilt

You may remember I bought this laser cut Hoffman Fabrics kit, which is not something I usually do.  I just gave into how cute this fox is and I couldn’t resist. It was super easy to put together.  The hardest part was cutting the fabric apart.  Then all I had to do was lay the  fabric down and iron them in place.

Hoffman Fox Quilt Kit

 

The next step was free motion quilting all of the pieces, so they stay on.  I am not great at free motion quilting.  You would think after 16 years of quilting I would have figured it out, but I haven’t.  It actually kind of scares me.  Okay, maybe scares is not the right word, let’s go with intimidates me.  I can’t handle that the stitches may not be perfect and all the same length. I know it’s a silly fear.  No quilt is perfect.  And the only way to actually get better is to practice.

Free Motion Quilting on The Fabulous Fox Quilt

Free Motion Quilting on The Fabulous Fox Quilt

So this quilt was perfect practice for me. I knew it wasn’t going anywhere but my daughter’s arms and she doesn’t care what stitches look like.  So away I went.  By the end of the quilt I have improved a lot!  Still not perfect, but who is right?

Free Motion Quilting

When I bought this it was just a wall hanging size.  I added four boarders to get it to be a good size lap quilt for Faith.  Because of all the details and free motion quilting it isn’t soft and cuddly like Faith was expecting. Which justifies me making her another Fox quilt… I already bought this adorable Fox fabric!! Ha, any excuse I can use!

Fox Fabric

This is on my Q1 list for the 2017 FAL– #2 of the quarter

 

Go Create Something Amazing,

222731DB205F60A80A6221033771405B

 

 

Linking up to :

Crazy Mom Quilts

Can I Get A Whoop Whoop

She Can Quilt-FAL

 

 

7 thoughts on “Fabulous Fox Quilt Finished for Faith

  1. Janice Holton says:

    You did a beautiful job of quilting! It isn’t that every stitch has to look perfect, but how does the overall effect look? It looks MAHVELOUS dahling! Found you on Crazy Mom. Look forward to seeing the next foxy thing you make. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sarah Elwood says:

    It’s so lovely when something we make is appreciated and snuggled up in! Great experience builder for you too. On behalf of the 2017 global FAL hosts, thank you for participating in this quarter’s FAL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

