Petal and Plume Flying Geese: WIP

Flowers & Flying Geese

My First Flying Geese: WIP

Well this has been an adventure making my first ever flying geese quilt. There are so many great tutorials to inspire my first attempt. I went with the no waste method, because let’s face it I do not need more scraps!! Currently I’m on scrap overload!!

scrap overload

I am using Art Gallery’s Petal and Plume as a starting point for this quilt. Which was a fun fabric to work with because there are so many different colors to play with! I started pulling from my stash! Yay! I love using those stash fabrics. I found that when I actually started putting it together I wanted even more colors so I am pulling as I go. I might end up with three of these quilts! Ha, I love not really caring about how many I end up with. It is very freeing!

Petal and Plume Fabric

I found this great tutorial from Amy over at Stitchery Dickery Dock. I made a few blocks and trimmed them up, just to make sure I was doing them correctly. Love them, so much! However, I didn’t realize how much work they are. I’m hoping I will get faster as I go. Otherwise you will be seeing this finished around February!

IMG_4229

Go Create Something Amazing,

222731DB205F60A80A6221033771405B

 

 

 

Linking up with:

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

6 thoughts on “Petal and Plume Flying Geese: WIP

  1. Mary says:

    Wow they are bright gorgeous geese, I made a large quilt of flying geese for a wedding gift and it took a few months but it was well worth the effort. Yours will look stunning

    Like

  2. Melanie says:

    I looove flying geese! As well as HSTs. All a lot of work. I always trim my HSts with bloc loc rulers so I will try those for the flying geese as well. But her tutorial appears easy and fast going as well. And they look so sunny and colorful. Have fun choosing your fabric and with making this one or more quilt(s) 🙂

    Like

  3. Diane Chambers says:

    I too love flying geese and your focus fabric is quite the color inspiration. Who cares when you finish it if you are loving doing it. And with such a great color palette, and so many different textures and prints, each goose is a new adventure. It will be very very striking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

