WIP: A Decision and a New Start

HST Navy Blue QuiltWIP: A Decision and a New Start

I was so excited to do a HST quilt in navy blue. So after many weeks of collecting enough fabric I started. After cutting out squares and making half square triangles out of them I began to sew them together… The only problem… I hate it! Okay, maybe hate is too strong of a word… strongly dislike. It is just not my style! It looks way too old school for me, even though it is done in fresh modern prints. So back to  the drawing board! I have all the fabric cut already and about half of them sewn together already! Ugh!!

IMG_3926

Trying not to panic, I grabbed a notepad and began to draw out a different idea. I haven’t done a chevron in a quite a while so I came up with these sketches. Which will use up all of the HST I have already made. Yay, crisis averted!

Each of these little squares are 2 inches finished. Aren’t they cute?

HST

Now I know I want to do the white squares in a different color but I am stuck between coral or turquoise. So I found two prints that I am in love with. I could use some advise on this one, which one do you think I should use? It will also be the backing and binding for the quilt.

Doe Sketch Stripe in Sage From Robert Kaufman

Doe Sketch Stripe in Sage From Robert Kaufman


Wildwood in Wildflower by Elizabeth Crimson for Cloud9 Fabrics

Wildwood in Wildflower by Elizabeth Crimson for Cloud9 Fabrics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really think this is the hardest part about quilting. It’s frustrating when you are excited and try something and it’s just not what you thought it was going to be! I think I recovered from this one. We will see what this week brings & if I’m happy with this new design.

Don’t forget to stop by and enter for my giveaway. Drawing is next Saturday. Good Luck family & friends!Quilted Pillow

Go Create Something Amazing,

Kara

Linked up to:

Sew Fresh Quilts 

3 thoughts on “WIP: A Decision and a New Start

    • Kara Z says:

      I just checked my stash and it looks like I have just enough to finish the one quilt. I’m so sorry, I wish I could help. And you’re right it is really hard to find! I will be going to a few stores in the next week and I will keep my eyes open for it and let you know if I find some!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

