A Finish and A Fail

Quilted Pillow Friday Finish: A Quilted Pillow

This week has been VERY busy! The only finish I have for you is this quilted pillow. Still sweet, even after making several of them. The damask is truly one of my favorite fabrics. I have no idea what I’m going to do when I can’t find it any more! Pillow Backing with Damask Fabric

The quilt to match will probably be done by next friday, it is all pieced together. Now I just need to find the time to quilt it!

I am also working on a custom order this week, which has really taken up a lot of my time and energy. I think it would be done now but my old friend, Mr. McSteamy (my iron) died suddenly. It was a sad day on Tuesday. We have worked together for 10 years. I think the only ones that will know how I feel are fellow quilters! So I picked myself up and went out and bought another one. We are still getting to know each other and I’m not sure if it will be a love or hate relationship.

I also had a fail this week. The actual FAIL part did not happen this week, it happened right before we left for our European adventure. Quilt Fail

See how my perfectly pieced plus signs stretched every direction? Ugh! What a bad day!  I was so upset I put it in the UFO pile. Usually projects never see the light of another day! This one had a purpose, it is a gift. So I pulled it back out to finish. Yikes what a mess! My new machine had done a terrible job quilting it. I actually had to bring it in for repair after this quilt. I played around with the thread tension and it just wouldn’t quilt correctly! My nice neat points and squares were stretched and warped!

Quilt Fail

Quilt Fail

I was really mad at myself for going as far as I did. I have spent all week pulling the stitches! Yep you heard me right! I have never UNquilted a quilt before and I hope to never do it again! But I’m excited to requilt it and see the finished piece!

Wow, I’m going to be busy next week! I’m hoping for two of my projects to get done! Wish me luck!

Go Create Something Amazing,

Kara

Linking up to Finish it up Friday:

 

5 thoughts on “A Finish and A Fail

Leave a Reply

