Monster Quilt: A Finished Quilt

The Monster QuiltFinish it up Friday: Monster Quilt

This is a great finish for me because this quilt has been in my unfinished stack for quite a while. It always feels good to get one you started ‘once upon a time’ done! Sometimes I’ll start one and then get a custom order so I’ll just put it aside. Sometimes it just gets forgotten, just like this one. Then when I finish it I wonder how I could forget about it because it’s so cute!

When I saw this crazy little monsters I knew it would make a wonderful backing to a baby quilt with lots of bright colors.

Crazy Little Monsters

Which is exactly the way I like to quilt! Lots of bright color! I knew I wanted to make a plus quilt. I had never tried to make one, so I would give it a shot. Turns out it is fun and extremely easy.

Little Details I tried to use a lot of different fabrics so it could be scrappy. Because we all know scrappy quilts are the best quilts!  This one uses 22 different fabrics. Each of the squares measure 4 inches, with the middle strip being 12.

Plus Details on the Monster Quilt

I think the toughest part of this quilt was trying to figure out where each color would fit the best. So I had to lay out the entire thing before sewing it together. I spent a really long time rearranging it until it was perfect!

I think the star fabric was my favorite so I used it as the binding.

Backing of the Monster Quilt

This one was is off to Austria as a special gift to Oscar. I hope he loves it! And is also available in my Etsy Shop.

Go Create Something Amazing,

Kara

 

One thought on “Monster Quilt: A Finished Quilt

Leave a Reply

