Scrappy Zig-Zag Quilt: A Finished Quilt

Chevron Zig-Zag QuiltGreen, Grey and Gold Chevron Zig-Zag Quilt

I am absolutely in love with this quilt! It is random selection of fabrics and colors. I wanted it to be very scrappy and to use up as many of my scrap strips as I could. So I dug through the bin and took out everything that matched with the colors I was using.
I wish I could say I came up with  this quilt idea but I did not. My friend Ashley loved the look of a quilt we found on Pinterest, so I duplicated it. The original quilt in my opinion is gorgeous. Dorie over at Tumbling Blocks is amazing! There are so many talented quilters out there! I’m so lucky to have so much inspiration!

Zig Zag Quilt

When I started this quilt I didn’t realize how long it would take to piece it together. Each ‘zig’ that I made had to be ironed and then trimmed. The ‘zag’ then had to be sewn on, ironed and then trimmed. So it took longer then expected because of the up and down. Here is a close-up so you can see each piece and how it was put together. See the seem on each point?

Chevron Quilt

 

The strips I used are all different sizes. I didn’t want it to look too uniform. The strips are between 1-2 inches each. That worked out great because my scraps were all different lengths and widths. It was actually a huge pile of strips of different colored fabric everywhere!

Corner of the chevron quilt with the tag

I ended up using over thirty different fabrics. For the backing I used Zen Chic Comma by Moda. I was so glad to finally use this fabric from my stash, I had been saving it for the perfect quilt.

Chevron quilt backing

I finished it up and shipped it off to beautiful Vivian (I think she likes it!).

IMG_3078

 

Go Create something Amazing,

Kara

Linked up to She Can Quilt: September Scraptastic Tuesday

2 thoughts on “Scrappy Zig-Zag Quilt: A Finished Quilt

Leave a Reply

